Department of Labour

The mandate of the Department of Labour is to regulate the labour market through policies and programmes developed in consultation with social partners.

The Department derives its mandate from the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa and gives effect thereto through a number of Acts which regulate labour matters in South Africa. Such legislation includes the Labour Relations Act (1995), the Basic Conditions of Employment Act (1997), the Employment Equity Act (1998), and the Occupational Health and Safety Act (1993).

Visit Department of Labour